Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba

The Honourable Janice C. Filmon, C.M., O.M.



May 12, 2014


The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall
To Participate in the Ceremony

Fourteen new members will be inducted into the Order of Manitoba this year at what promises to be one of the most historic investitures in the 15-year-history of the order, Lt.-Gov. Philip S. Lee, chancellor of the order, announced today.

"Attending this year's ceremony, and participating in the event, will be Their Royal Highnesses The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall," said the lieutenant-governor.

Established under special legislation, the Order of Manitoba is the province's highest honour. It recognizes individuals who have demonstrated excellence and achievement in any field of endeavour, benefiting in an outstanding manner the social, cultural or economic well-being of Manitoba and its residents.

"Those selected for investiture this year are all exceptional men and women and represent an array of talent, expertise, compassion and commitment," said the chancellor.

Those to be invested in 2014 are:

  • Lorraine E. Brandson, curator of Churchill's world-renowned Eskimo Museum, archivist for the Churchill-Hudson Bay diocese, author and community volunteer, recognized for her devotion to preserving and promoting the culture, heritage and environment of our north;
  • Robert Bryan (Bob) Brennan, the former president and CEO of Manitoba Hydro, under whose stewardship the Crown Corporation became an industry leader and for his contributions to numerous corporate and community boards;
  • Thomas Ralston (Tom) Denton, executive director of Hospitality House Refugee Ministry, who has been a voice of compassion for the world's refugees for more than 30 years and is also well known as the co-founder and first publisher of the Winnipeg Sun;
  • Donald (Don) Duguid, Canadian curling champion and pioneer in curling telecasting, he is the last Canadian skip to win back-to-back world titles and a recent inaugural member of the World Curling Hall of Fame;
  • Ronald (Sam) Fabro, C.M., successful businessman and former president of the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame, for his legendary efforts in promoting and organizing sports in Winnipeg and for his philanthropic and active support of many worthy causes including the Fort Whyte Centre;
  • Raymonde Gagné, the innovative president of Université de Saint-Boniface, for her significant contributions to the advancement of French-language post-secondary education in Manitoba and Canada;
  • Allan Gotlieb, C.C., Canada's esteemed ambassador to the United States from 1981 to 1989, for his exceptional contributions at the provincial, national and international levels during his distinguished public service and legal careers, particularly in the areas of international law and diplomacy;
  • Israel Idonije, the first graduate of the University of Manitoba Bisons to play in the National Football League, the 11-year veteran defensive lineman has garnered even more acclaim through the public service and philanthropic accomplishments of the Israel Idonije Foundation and IZZYz KIDz;
  • Bob Irving, the beloved 'Voice of the Bombers' since 1974 and sports director at CJOB, he has exemplified the best in sports broadcasting for more than 40 years and helped advance amateur and professional sport in Manitoba, all while quietly supporting the efforts of innumerable charities and community groups;
  • Jennifer Jones, one of the most successful skips in Canadian curling, made history in 2014 when she led her team to an unprecedented 11-0 record, which included the gold medal victory at the Sochi Winter Olympics;
  • Dr. Hermann Lee, assistant professor in the faculty of dentistry at the University of Manitoba and practicing orthodontist, for his considerable service to the Chinese-Canadian community and the community at large including the Chinese Chamber of Commerce and the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra;
  • Roland Penner, C.M., former attorney general of Manitoba and former dean of law at the University of Manitoba, for his groundbreaking contributions to the administration of justice in the fields of law and public service, and his tireless promotion of access to justice, human rights and the rights of First Nations people;
  • Carole A. Vivier, CEO of Manitoba Film & Music, Manitoba's film commissioner, and co-chair of the 2014 Juno Awards, whose energy and vision have helped her organization attract international productions and gain international stature, all while shining the spotlight on Manitoba talent; and
  • Doris Sarah Young, assistant to the president on Aboriginal Affairs at the University College of the North, is a member of the Opaskwayak Cree Nation, a residential school survivor and a member of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, who has championed treaty rights, human rights and social justice initiatives during her lifelong efforts to improve the lives of Aboriginal people in Canada.

Recipients are selected by an independent advisory council that evaluates all nominations received and then recommends the candidates each year to the chancellor. Once inducted into the order, members may use the initials O.M. after their names for life.

This year's investiture will take place at a ceremony to be held May 21 at the Manitoba Legislative Building.


Contact: Dwight MacAulay, secretary, Order of Manitoba Advisory Council, 204-945-3939.