Manitoba Lieutenant Governor

Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba

The Honourable Anita R. Neville, P.C., O.M.


This content has been archived. It may no longer be relevant

Lt.-Gov. Janice C. Filmon will present the Lieutenant Governor’s Historical Preservation and Promotion awards at 5 p.m. today at Government House to three Manitobans for their prolonged, meritorious service in the preservation and promotion of the province’s history and heritage.

Recipients are:

  • Elva Simundsson (Gimli);
  • Edward Stozek (Dauphin);
  • Josephine “Jo” Bunka (Winnipegosis);

“The individuals selected to receive awards this year represent the many dedicated individuals throughout Manitoba who take such care in preserving and promoting this provinces rich and vibrant history.” said Lt.-Gov. Filmon. “Whether through stewardship of the provinces historic buildings, museums and archives, the writing of books or creating programs to engage and inspire future historians, these outstanding Manitobans care deeply about the communities in which they live. It is a pleasure to recognize their efforts and achievements.”

The Manitoba Historical Society (MHS) receives award nominations from the public and recommends up to three people to receive awards each year. Nominations are welcome at any time.

Further details of the award program along with a nomination form are available on the MHS website at and can additionally be accessed through the website of the lieutenant-governor at .

For more information, contact: Gordon Goldsborough, MHS, 204-782-8829, or Kate Gameiro, Office of the Lieutenant Governor, 204-945-2752