Manitoba Lieutenant Governor

Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba

The Honourable Anita R. Neville, P.C., O.M.

RCMP Long Service and Good Conduct Medal and Awards

Remarks by

The Honourable Anita Neville, P.C., O.M.

Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba


Government House

Thursday, November 23, 2023, 1 p.m.

(please check against delivery)

Family, friends, and members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, as Lieutenant Governor of this great province, I welcome you to this celebration of dedicated service.

We recognize and respect that we gathered today in the heart of Treaty One territory and the homeland of the Red River Métis.

Our province is the ancestral and present-day home of the Anishinaabe, Cree, Dakota, Dene, Inuit and Métis peoples, and we must all commit to walking together so that all people can enjoy freedom and safety, dignity and opportunity.

A just and healthy society requires the dedication of countless individuals in all walks of life.

A special responsibility is carried by those who choose to serve protect the public, to assist people in need and to enforce the law.

It is a commitment that comes with unique difficulties and dangers and heavy responsibilities. And it is one that has been continually evolving for 150 years, since the first members of the Northwest Mounted Police donned their uniforms.

Today, we are recognizing individuals who have served the RCMP for at least 20 years – exhibiting irreproachable character and dedication to serving their fellow Canadians. We are recognizing both members of the RCMP as well as civilian staff whose contributions are critical in supporting the work of the police.

In an environment of continual change, today’s award recipients have responded by continuous learning and adaptation. They work to meet new challenges and provide excellent service to Canadians from coast to coast to coast.

This year, as the RCMP marks 150 years since its founding, we recognize that it is the commitment of its members to Canada and Canadian laws and values that makes this one of our country’s great institutions.

To all of todays award recipients, congratulations, and thank you for your commitment to your community, your country, and your fellow Canadians.

Thank you    Merci    Meegwich    Shalom