Manitoba Lieutenant Governor

Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba

The Honourable Anita R. Neville, P.C., O.M.

25th – The Honourable Janice Clare Filmon, C.M., O.M.

Term of Office: 19 June 2015 – 24 October 2022

Born: 28 Feb 1943

Janice Filmon was installed as Manitoba’s 25 th Lieutenant Governor on June 19, 2015.

Janice Filmon holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Home Economics and is a past chair of the University of Manitoba Alumni Association. As the wife of Gary Filmon – former Premier of Manitoba for 11½ years – she is the mother of four grown children and grandmother to nine precious grandchildren and one precious great grandchild.

She has served as Chair of the Board of Directors of the Cancer Care Manitoba Foundation, Founding Chair of the Nellie McClung Foundation which recently placed a monument of the “Famous Five” on the grounds of the Manitoba Legislative Building and continues to be involved in youth leadership. She was the Founding Co-Chair of Leadership Winnipeg and the Chair of Festivals for the 1999 Pan American Games. She has been honoured with the Guardian Angel Award by the Manitoba Cancer Treatment and Research Foundation. As well, the Manitoba Cancer Treatment and Research Foundation & Great West Life created the Janice C. Filmon Award for Leadership in Cancer Care in Manitoba, to honour those who make significant contributions in this field. She was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in Canon Law by St. John’s College in 2007 and an Honorary Doctorate of Law by the University of Manitoba in 2011.

Janice was inducted into the Order of Manitoba in 2007 and the Order of Canada in 2013.

Prior Contributions to the Community

  • Cancer Care Manitoba Foundation – Past Chair & Member of the Board of Directors
  • Manitoba A.L.I.V.E. (A Leadership Initiative In Voluntary Effort) Founder, Honorary Chair, presenter, participant – a three and one half day residential symposium to teach selected high school students the skills needed in the voluntary sector (since 1993)
  • Winnipeg Airport Authority – Past Board Member
  • Leadership Winnipeg – Founding Co-chair – a unique program to identify and develop leadership in our community
  • Reh-Fit Centre 25 th Anniversary Celebration and Healthy Living Awards – Chair – 2003
  • Foundations For Health – Chair – 1993–1999 – a $26 million capital campaign to build a new research facility. A collaboration between Winnipeg’s Health Sciences Foundation, Children’s Research Foundation and Juvenile Diabetes – Official opening April 24/2001
  • 1999 Pan American Games – Festival Chair, member of Board of Directors. Responsible for the “Spirit” of the Games, Opening and Closing Ceremonies, Arts and Cultural Initiatives, Athlete’s Village Entertainment, Celebration at the Forks nightly
  • PRIDE – Canada (Canada’s Adolescent Drug Awareness Program) – National Board member (1992- 1995)
  • Winnipeg Festival of Trees – Inaugural Chair
  • Junior League of Winnipeg – President (1980-1981)
  • Federation of Junior Leagues of Canada – Co-chair (1982-1984)
  • Manitoba Heart Foundation – Executive and Board member (1980-1984)
  • Arthur V. Mauro Centre for Peace and Justice – Board Member

Dedications and Honours

  • Recipient of Ben Gurion Award in partnership with her husband – “Devoted leadership in the spirit of Ben Gurion.”
  • Named a “Paul Harris Fellow” by the Rotary International Foundation – November 2003
  • Peter D. Curry Chancellor’s Award, University of Manitoba, May 2005
  • Co-recipient of the Distinguished Alumni Award, University of Manitoba – 2005
  • Recipient of the Winnipeg Press Club Award for the person who made the biggest difference in our community – 2005
  • 2010 B’naith Brith Canada Award of Merit – Winnipeg
  • Ronald G. Calhoun Science Ambassador Award – Partners in Research 2014