Manitoba Lieutenant Governor

Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba

The Honourable Anita R. Neville, P.C., O.M.

Lieutenant-Governor Requests Nominations For Annual Historical Award

Lt.-Gov. Anita R. Neville is encouraging the public to nominate worthy Manitobans who have provided prolonged and meritorious service in the preservation and promotion of Manitoba history for an award, presented in consultation with the Manitoba Historical Society (MHS).

“I am pleased to continue this award started in 2011 to recognize community-minded individuals who devote their time and expertise to preserving documents, creating historical studies, restoring or maintaining historical buildings and artifacts, bringing the past to life in schools, museums and historic sites, and advocating for historical understanding,” said Neville. “I encourage you to nominate an outstanding volunteer in your community, for the role they play in ensuring the memory of the community remains intact for future generations.”

The Lieutenant Governor’s Awards for Historical Preservation and Promotion are presented to those with experience in such endeavours as:

  • writing of historical publications and documents;
  • stewardship of museums and archives;
  • raising of public education, advocacy and awareness;
  • committee or community service;
  • preservation of historic sites/buildings; and
  • art and media.

As the oldest historical organization in Western Canada, founded in 1879, the MHS presents awards to businesses, farms and organizations that have operated for over 100 years, and recognizes important historical books with its annual Margaret McWilliams Awards. It publishes the journal Prairie History and operates a comprehensive website of historical information.

The MHS will receive nominations from the public and will recommend up to five individuals to receive awards this year. Two awards will be reserved for emerging historians (mid-30s and younger). Paid professionals in the field of history and heritage will not be considered. Nominations must be received by Friday, March 1, 2024. The awards will be presented at Government House later in the spring.

Nomination forms and further details of the award program are available on the websites of the Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba ( and the Manitoba Historical Society (

– 30 –

Contact:  Kate Gameiro, 204-945-2752 or Gordon Goldsborough, 204-782-8829