Manitoba Lieutenant Governor

Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba

The Honourable Anita R. Neville, P.C., O.M.


This content has been archived. It may no longer be relevant

Lt.-Gov. Janice Filmon is encouraging the public to nominate a worthy Manitoban who has provided prolonged and meritorious service in the preservation and promotion of Manitoba history for an award, presented in consultation with the Manitoba Historical Society.

“In every community, in every city and town, there are individuals who devote their time and expertise to preserving documents, creating historical studies, restoring or maintaining historical buildings and artifacts, bringing the past to life in schools, museums and historic sites, and advocating for historical understanding.” Said Filmon. “It is a pleasure to formally recognize Manitobans who take such pride in preserving and promoting the history of this great province for the benefit of us all.”

The Lieutenant Governor’s Award for Historical Preservation and Promotion is presented to those with experience in such endeavours as:

  • the writing of historical publications and documents;
  • stewardship of museums and archives;
  • raising of public education, advocacy and awareness;
  • committee or community service;
  • preservation of historic sites / buildings; and
  • art and media.

As the oldest historical organization in Western Canada, founded in 1879, the Manitoba Historical Society (MHS) presents awards to businesses, farms and organizations that have operated for over 100 years, recognizes important historical books with its Margaret McWilliams Awards and encourages schoolchildren to learn about Manitoba’s past through its Young Historians Awards. It publishes the Prairie History The Journal of the West and operates a comprehensive website with information on all facets of Manitoba history and heritage.

The MHS will receive nominations from the public and will recommend up to three individuals to receive awards this year. Nominations to be considered for 2022 must be received by Friday, April 1. The awards will be presented at Government House later in the spring.

Nomination forms and further details of the award program are available on the websites of the Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba ( and the Manitoba Historical Society (

– 30 –

Contact: Kate Gameiro, 204-945-2752 or Gordon Goldsborough, 204-782-8829