Manitoba Lieutenant Governor

Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba

The Honourable Anita R. Neville, P.C., O.M.

Outstanding Manitobans Chosen to Receive the Order of Manitoba

Twelve Manitobans whose contributions encompass a broad range of endeavours and accomplishments will soon receive the Order of Manitoba, the province’s highest honour. The formal investiture ceremony is scheduled to be held on Thursday, July 11, at the Legislative Building.

The Order of Manitoba was established in 1999 to honour Manitobans who have demonstrated excellence and achievement, thereby enriching the social, cultural or economic well-being of the province and its residents.

“The accomplishments of the women and men who will receive the 2024 Order of Manitoba exemplifies their commitment to the community at the local, national and international levels,” said Lt.-Gov. Anita R. Neville, chancellor of the order, who will preside over the ceremony. “The impact of their leadership has made a unique mark on this province and its people with achievements that both impress and inspire.”

Appointments to the order are made by the chancellor based on the recommendations of an advisory council. Order of Manitoba members are entitled to use the initials OM after their names for life. The list of all members of the Order of Manitoba is on permanent display in the Legislative Building.

The following Manitobans will be invested at the 2024 ceremony:

Elder Mae Louise Campbell

A Métis/Saulteaux woman, and one of eight children who grew up in the Métis community of Kississing Lake, Man., Elder Campbell’s work is centred on restoring and protecting Indigenous spiritual values and principles. For 45 years she has worked with Indigenous women and two-spirit peoples, and today, at the age of 90, she shares her knowledge around traditional women’s healing practices. Elder Campbell was also a member of Canada’s National Task Force on Trafficking of Women and Girls in Canada.

The Honourable Murray Sinclair (Mizana Gheezik), CC

The Honourable Murray Sinclair is a former member of the Canadian Senate and a First Nations lawyer who chaired the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada from 2009 to 2015. He was the first Indigenous judge appointed in Manitoba, serving from 1988 to 2016 and served in the Senate of Canada from 2016 to 2021.

Myrna Driedger

A former registered nurse, leader and advocate for missing and exploited children, the founder of the Nellie McClung Foundation, a member of the Manitoba legislative assembly for 25 years and a two-term Speaker, Myrna Driedger was recognized with the 2023 Commonwealth Parliamentarian Lifetime Achievement Award for her unwavering dedication to making our province a better place.

Dr. Brent Roussin

Manitoba’s chief public health officer, Dr. Brent Roussin is a physician, law school graduate, and familiar face to Manitobans as the province’s top public health authority and spokesperson during daily COVID-19 pandemic news conferences. A specialist in public health and preventive medicine, Dr. Roussin also brings an understanding of administrative law that was particularly helpful during the province’s COVID-19 response.

Dr. Marcia Anderson

A nationally renowned physician and an influential academic leader, Dr. Marcia Anderson, who is Cree-Anishinaabe, served as the public health lead for Manitoba’s First Nations COVID-19 pandemic response team. She has been credited with mitigating the impact of COVID-19 in First Nations communities throughout Manitoba through collaborative leadership, clinical excellence, and strong relationships.

David Johnston

A successful, community-minded business executive, David Johnston founded Johnston Group, a benefit plan company that also funds multiple special projects supporting the work of well over 100 community organizations. With his wife Diane and children, he also developed the Johnston Family Foundation to extend their giving to a variety of worthy causes including anti-poverty efforts, addiction and recovery, palliative care, sports and community development.

Ronald Paley

Ron Paley toured internationally playing electric bass with the big bands of Buddy Rich and Woody Herman, recording multiple albums, including a song on The Main Event with Frank Sinatra. Returning to his roots in Winnipeg, he formed the Ron Paley Big Band in 1976, rising to prominence as a composer, arranger and leader. He received the BreakOut West Western Canadian Music Awards’ Heritage Award for significant contributions to the music industry.

Robert (Bob) Williams

Bob Williams is a supporter of organizations focused on the arts, nature conservancy and the armed forces. Over the last decade, he has donated many millions of dollars and his time to such organizations as the Winnipeg Art Gallery/Qaumajuq, the Royal Aviation Museum of Western Canada and FortWhyte Alive. He serves as an honorary colonel with the Fort Garry Horse Regiment, promoting the welfare and support of veterans, serving soldiers and their families.

Chad Swayze

A professional firefighter and community fundraiser, Chad Swayze was instrumental in Winnipeg successfully hosting the 2023 World Police and Fire Games (WPFG). He has represented Canada in the WPFG nine times, winning multiple medals. Also a member of the LGBTQ community, he was successful in including a fire truck in the 2017 Winnipeg Pride Parade for the first time, helping others to be comfortable being who they are.

Michel D. Lagacé

For more than 40 years, serving as chair of the boards of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, Arts Stabilization Manitoba and Société historique de Saint-Boniface (SHSB), Michel Lagacé has worked to advance the provincial arts, culture and heritage sectors. Providing significant leadership in the francophone community, he led the management of the SHSB archives building, negotiating its recognition as the francophone equivalent of the Archives of Manitoba.

James Cohen

James Cohen is a Winnipeg-based executive, musician, philanthropist and supporter of many cultural organizations in Manitoba. He has served as president of real estate company Gendis Inc. and chaired Canada’s Royal Winnipeg Ballet, Manitoba Museum and the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra development committee. He founded the Prairie Roots Rockers, a group which reached #32 nationally with its song So Long Sweet Deception. He and his wife Linda have also made donations to a wide variety of local charities. 

Connie Walker

Throughout her career, Connie Walker has been a passionate community builder dedicated to Winnipeggers. She is a tireless champion of an inclusive and thriving city where no one is left behind. As president and CEO of United Way, she inspired countless volunteers, donors and partners to support front-line services, help youth achieve their potential and assist families to move out of poverty, while improving the health of people and their neighbourhoods.

More information about the Order of Manitoba can be found at:

– 30 –


Bradley Robertson
Chief of Protocol and Secretary to the Order of Manitoba Advisory Council